Association of
Hawaiian Civic Clubs
Founded 1959 - Honolulu, HI

Koʻolaupoko Hawaiian Civic Club

Ua Mau Ke Ea O Ka ‘Äina I Ka Pono |  The Life of Th e Land is Perpetuated In Righteousness


Alice P. Hewett


P. O. Box 664, Kaneohe, HI  96744

Hope Pelekikena ‘Ekahi:

Leialoha "Rocky" Kaluhiwa

Organized | Chartered:

August 10, 1937   |   April 18 1959

Hope Pelekikena ‘Elua:

Aaron D. Mahi

Club Pua:


Pelekikena Iho Nei:

Mahealani Cypher

Club Colors:

Red and Yellow


Nancy Davlantes

Club Mele:

Aloha Kuuhome o Kaneohe & Kaneohe

Kakau ‘Olelo:

Teri Loo

HCC Email:

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Kakau Mo’olelo:

Cheryl Prince

HCC Website:

Ho‘opa‘a Mo’olelo:

Shandry Lopes

Number of Educational Scholarships

Awarded in 2018:  3


Gwen Lee


Clifford Loo


Alaka‘i Mele:

Aaron D. Mahi


Nā Alakaʻi:

Keau George, Gwen Lee, Jennifer Nakamura, Shandry Lopes, Shirley Kaluhiwa, Kaipo Granito, Jill Akana, Francine Gora and Leilani Jones-Tollefsen


Information submitted by:

Mahealani Cypher


2018 Club Report


During 2018, the Ko`olaupoko Hawaiian Civic Club remained an active force for the nine ahupua`a around Kane`ohe Bay.


Among its first initiatives was the implementation of their legislative priorities program through outreach to the State Legislature from its opening days. Of seven major priorities the club listed, five found success through legislative actions taken. Among their priorities was funding a cultural resource staff for the He`eia NERRS, elimination of coral-damaging suntan lotions, and support for the Aha Moku and the Haiku Valley Cultural Preserve.


The club also voted to host an OHA candidates forum and worked with the Waimanalo, Kailua and Ko`olauloa Hawaiian Civic Clubs to hold the forum in June.


Members of the club serve on the Kane`ohe and Kahaluu Neighborhood Boards; four members - Sen.-elect Jarrett Keohokalole, Sen. Gil Riviere, Rep.-elect Scot Matayoshi and Rep.-elect Lisa Kitagawa - won their respective races in the Primary Elections; and three members serve on state or other city boards and commissions.


The club engaged in numerous consultations throughout the year with public and private entities, including working with landowners regarding Kawa`ewa`e Heiau and Haiku Valley to establish cultural preserves, and serves as cultural advisor to the Hawai`i Institute of Marine Biology on Moku o Lo`e (Coconut Island).


The club honored its 2018 Distinguished Kama`aina, Chancellor Douglas Dykstra of Windward Community College, at its annual Ku i ke Kama`aina Recognition and Scholarship Benefit luncheon held Sept. 3 at Haleiwa Joe's Restaurant. Also recognized were Helen C. Kane honorees Aiden and Brian Lopes, and scholarship recipients Celeste Akana, Kristal Brown and Ian Jenss.


In February, member Mahealani Cypher was recognized by Ke One o Kakuhihewa (O`ahu Council) at its fundraiser luncheon as the Ko`olaupoko moku honoree.


The club was saddened by the passing of two members this year: Haleaka Martin and John Jenss.